How Perennial is organised

Perennial employs staff around the UK to help and support horticulturists and their families. A team of senior managers and support staff is based at the charity’s head office in Leatherhead, Surrey with dedicated advisers and fundraisers based around the UK.

Who’s Who 

Perennial is governed by a Board of Trustees who serve on a voluntary basis. They are drawn from a variety of professions but all have a common objective of providing the very best in support services to those in need in horticulture.



HRH Princess Alexandra, KG, GCVO







Alan Titchmarsh MBE, VMH 

Vice Presidents

Sir Nicholas Bacon Bt OBE DL
Heather Barrett Mold OBE
Jim Buttress VMH
Lord (Hugh) Cavendish of Furness DL
Sir David Howard Bt
Alan Kendall MBE
Sir Roger Singleton CBE
Sir Roy Strong CH
Boyd Douglas-Davies


Dougal Philip – Chairman
Founder and owner of New Hopetoun Gardens, former RHS Council member and past President of the Horticultural Trades Association.

Steven Palmer – Honorary Treasurer
Former Finance Director, Squire’s Garden Centres. Chairman of Resources Committee.

Carole Baxter
Gardener & Broadcaster. Presenter BBC Scotland Beechgrove TV programme.

Andrew Fisher Tomlin
Garden designer, Chartered Horticulturist and Director of the London College of Garden Design

Maureen Hart
Social worker, Vice Chair and Member of Sefton Adoption Panel, Vice Chair and Member of Sefton Fostering Panel, Justice of the Peace.

Mark Lane
Gardener. Gardens Manager, Buckingham Palace.

Cindy Peck
Solicitor and former longstanding partner with Dentons. Member of the Council of the University of Bristol and member of the Court of the Worshipful Company of Gardeners.

Emma Tinker
Director of Asper Investment Management with substantial commercial experience within the energy industry.

Paul Rochford
Fifth generation nurseryman he runs Joseph Rochford Gardens, a wholesale business supplying plants to the landscape industry.

Malcolm Goodwin
Principal of Capel Manor College

David Buchanan-Cook
He used to work for Scottish Legal Complaints Commission. As a Case Investigations Manager/Head of Oversight & Deputy CEO/ Head of Strategic Insight until August 2019.

Senior Staff:

Chief Executive                                                   Peter Newman
Director of Services                                            Julia Hayne
Director of Finance                                             Simon Kemp
Director of Marketing and Fundraising           Anita Bates

Annual Report and Accounts

Read our 2019 Annual Report and Accounts

Read our 2019 Impact Report

Read our 2018 Annual Report and Accounts

Read our 2018 Impact Report

Read our 2017 Annual Report and Accounts

Read our 2017 Impact Report 

Read our 2016 Annual Report and Accounts

Read our 2016 Impact Report

Read our 2015 Annual Report and Accounts

Read our 2015 Impact Report

Read our 2014 Annual Report and Accounts

Read our 2013 Annual Report and Accounts

Read our 2012 Annual Report and Accounts

Perennial Policies

Treating Clients Fairly

Privacy Policy

Safeguarding Statement

Online Accessibility

Use of Cookies

Complaints Procedure

Our Fundraising Promise